Saskatchewan Music Educators Association

Saskatchewan Honour Band, Honour Choir Resources: SKHG2017


Welcome to the support website for 2017 Saskatchewan Honour Band and Choir

Registration forms 2017

recalls audition information here (general rules, audition content required)

PLEASE SEND REGISTRATIONS SOON, the rosters need confirmations!


2017 Saskatchewan Honour Band (2017 Roster)

Karlee Hedin
Thuraya Brennan
Leila DelBarrio
Bailey Armstrong
Ashlynn Hill

Rebecca George
Hollynd Mitzel

Anthony Pittman
Julie Frostad

Soprano ClarinetMichayla Nimchuk
Katelyn Schierle
Jaejoon Kim
Leah Bratvold
Mbabazi Opondo
Braden Seidenthal
Hunter Ruel
Jienan Chen
Chelsea Martin

Bass Clarinet
Gavin Herbert
Roanne Suarez

Alto Saxophone
Nicole Friedrick
James Griffith
Marco Mai
Kailey Herner

Tenor Saxophone
Micah Carter
(recall position open)

Baritone Saxophone
Aidane Schafer
Julianne Friesen

French Horn
Kate Stachyruk
Emmanuella Oyenuga
Marianne Kitchen
Ella Sikora
Austin Prima
Danicka Omoth

Renee Lavoie
Sophia Porter
Kiera Ghiglione
Levi Brown
Sidney Martin
Faith Austin

Kathryn Orth
Mark Heinrichs
Zander Rempel
Matt Nimchuk
Kira Enstrom
John Barton
Tyler Chomyn

Andrew Pittman
Sophia Muzychka

Brittany Enstrom
Anthony Merkel
Jayne Hearn

String Bass

(recall position open)

Jordan Posein
Max Hiske
Ella Matthews
Holly Slager
Minseo Kim
Robin Powers


2017 Saskatchewan Honour Band (initial repertoire)

Carl Holmquist



C. Alan (available JW Pepper)


Matthew Emery

When the Sun



Cait Nishimura

Chasing Sunlight
(CBA competition prize winner)



Franco Cesarini

Greek Folk Song Suite


De Haske (available JW Pepper)









2017 Saskatchewan Honour Choir (2017 Roster)

Soprano 1
Faith Akers
Aurora Chen
Anika Farrell
Avery Fowler
Nyah Kelly
Mariella Masaoay
Julia Ramsay
Naomi Wall

Soprano 2
Giselle Anderson
Elizabeth Baird
Destinni Baird
Nevaeh Carleton
Zoe Johnson
Julianne Langois
Morgan Layton
Vanessa Toy
Gabrielle Wieder
Chloe Woytiuk
Claire Wright

Alto 1
Michelle Chang
Elizabeth Demong
Allison Gordon
Aimee Jenkins
Gianne May Leguro
Relan Meeks
Jacelyn Perret
Kaileya Roffey
Sarah Szell
Troy Willis

Alto 2
Chloe Flota
Janaya Fuller
Trinity Fusick
Victory Howard
Alexandra Jeannot
Gracie Kuppenbender

Tenor 1
Wyatt Astle
John David
Adam Frombach
Noah Greuel
Allan McCaskill
Ethan Perry
Sam Stawartz

Tenor 2
Kai Finnestad
Isaac Kalyniuk
Christian Luansing
Matthew Nordin
Mosiah Osaseri
Connor Pettigrew
Johannes Quinton

Bass 1
Ty Bernier
Clark Blundell
Liam Clarke
Benedict Magalong
Emmanuel Osaseri
Patrick Ravasco
Emry Tupper
Chris Van der Spuy

Bass 2
Dante Bacchetto
Lance Carasig
Daniel Everitt
Derek Frombach
Andrew Glass
Mackenzie Hay
Atanas Kolev
Kody Munkhom

2017 Saskatchewan Honour Choir (initial repertoire)




Trilo (Swedish)


arr. Bengt Ollen


Les Berceaux (French)


Gabriel Faure


Bogoroditse Devo


Arvo Part


Whiter Than Snow


arr. Olson*


Don't Be Afraid


arr. Jen McMillan*/Allyson Reigh*



Sydney Guillaume


African piece

arr. Kokopelli* by rote


Water Fountain

arr. Kristopher Fulton*


*Canadian arranger/composer

Meet your Conductors



  Dr. Gillian Mackay is Professor of Music of the University of Toronto, where she conducts the Wind Ensemble and teaches undergraduate and graduate conducting. She has conducted honour bands throughout Canada and the United States, and is Associate Conductor of the Denis Wick Canadian Wind Orchestra. Gillian adjudicates regularly at regional, provincial, and national festivals in Canada, and has conducted honour ensembles and judged competitions in Korea, Singapore and Thailand. Also recognized as a conducting pedagogue, Gillian leads the University of Toronto Wind Conducting Symposium each July, and has been the guest instructor at other symposia in Canada and the United States. She is known for her work on the relationship between conducting and mime. As a trumpeter, she has a particular interest in the French solo trumpet and cornet music of the 19th century. Dr. MacKay holds degrees from the University of Lethbridge, the University of Calgary, McGill University, and Northwestern University.





     Scott Leithead is the founder and Artistic Director of the Kokopelli Choir Association and TIME Association. He has been invited to conduct provincial and state honour choirs on twenty-one occasions and he has presented workshops in North America and beyond. Notable appearances include: conducting the Alberta Youth Choir for the Alberta Choral Federation's 40th Anniversary; conducting the 2013, 2015 and 2016 Ellison Canadian Honour Choir; and conducting the 2016 ACDA NW Regional Youth Choir in Seattle. He has adjudicated both the ACCC National Competition for Amateur Canadian Choirs and the Kathaumixw International Choir Festival (2014 and 2016). Under his direction, Kokopelli was the winner of both the 2015 CBC National Competition for Canadian Amateur Choirs and both the 2015 and 2016 Canadian National Music Competition.

     Scott has a passion for music from southern Africa and he has been invited to work with choirs in South Africa and Namibia on numerous occasions. In 2008-2009, Scott was on sabbatical in Namibia where he worked with the Mascato Youth Choir and many other choirs in southern Africa. Scott's passion for innovative and unique choral music experiences has shaped the direction of the Kokopelli Choir Association.
     Scott is a longtime member of the advisory committee for the Canadian Rocky Mountain Music Festival. He is also past president of the Braille Tone Music Society (for persons with disabilities) and three additional national boards in Canada, as well as the National Youth Music and Art Development Foundation of South Africa.
     In 2016-2017, Scott will present clinics and workshops across Canada and return to conduct numerous honour choirs, including the 2017 Ellison Canadian Honour Choir (Niagara Falls), the BC Chorfest Young Adult Choir (Victoria), and the Juvenata Festival (Nova Scotia). He will be the guest clinician at the University of Toronto Summer Conducting Symposium in July 2017. He will also be adjudicating at the prestigious Tampere Choral Festival in Finland in June. In addition, he will adjudicate festivals in Courtney BC, Halifax NS, Whistler BC, and Calgary. In February he will work with choirs in communities throughout Newfoundland and present a mass concert in St. John's. In the summer of 2017 he will present an atelier at the "Festival Choeur du bout du Monde" in Gaspe, Quebec.

BOOKMARK this site as SMEAHG on your browser


Darrell Bueckert, Honour Groups CHAIR